Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Tuesday, January 17, 2017

National Book Critics Circle Finalists

The National Book Critics Circle Awards finalists for the outstanding books of 2016 were announced today.  The Awards are a set of annual American literary awards by the National Book Critics Circle to promote "the finest books published in English."  These are the fiction finalists:

Moonglow by Michael Chabon
LaRose by Louise Erdrich
Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett
Commonwealth by Ann Patchett
Swing Time by Zadie Smith

If you are interested in the finalists in the other five categories (Nonfiction, Poetry, Memoir/Autobiography, Biography, and Criticism), check out this website:

Margaret Atwood will receive the National Book Critics Circle's Ivan Sandrof Lifetime Achievement Award.  Awarded semi-regularly since 1982, this honour recognizes those who have made a significant contribution to book culture.  This is the first time a Canadian has won.

Winners will be announced on Thursday, March 16, 2017.