Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Thursday, December 1, 2016

Canadian Book Advent Calendar (Day 1) - "A" is for Atwood

Advent is upon us once again.  Last year, I did a Book Advent Calendar so for the 24 days leading up to Christmas, I recommended a book – a book to which I had given at least 4 Stars but for which I had not yet posted a review on my blog.  I went through the alphabet (using author’s surnames), skipping "Q" and "X".

This year, I thought I’d recommend Canadian authors/books found on Schatje’s Shelves.  Again, to make it more interesting/challenging, I will use the alphabet, this time skipping “X” and “Z”.  In total, I propose to focus on 50 Canadian writers, an early nod to Canada's 150th birthday next year.

“A” is for Margaret Atwood
Margaret Atwood is a novelist, poet, and short story writer; her work is acclaimed internationally and has been published around the world.

Since this blog focuses on novels, here’s a list of hers:
The Edible Woman
Lady Oracle
Life Before Man (finalist for the 1979 Governor General's Award)
Bodily Harm
The Handmaid's Tale (winner of the 1987 Arthur C. Clarke Award and 1985 Governor General's Award, finalist for the 1986 Booker Prize)
Cat's Eye (finalist for the 1988 Governor General's Award and the 1989 Booker Prize)
The Robber Bride (finalist for the 1994 Governor General's Award and shortlisted for the James Tiptree Jr. Award)
Alias Grace (winner of the 1996 Giller Prize, finalist for the 1996 Booker Prize and the1996 Governor   General's Award, shortlisted for the 1997 Orange Prize for Fiction)
The Blind Assassin (winner of the 2000 Booker Prize and finalist for the 2000 Governor General's Award,  shortlisted for the 2001 Orange Prize for Fiction.)
Oryx and Crake (finalist for the 2003 Booker Prize and the 2003 Governor General's Award and shortlisted for the 2004 Orange Prize for Fiction.)
The Penelopiad (nominated for the 2006 Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature and longlisted for the 2007 IMPAC Award)
The Year of the Flood (longlisted for the 2011 IMPAC Award)
Scribbler Moon (2114; written in 2014 as part of the Future Library project)