Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Saturday, September 17, 2016

2016 National Book Award for Fiction - Longlist

The other day,  the longlist for the National Book Award for Fiction was released:

The Throwback Special by Chris Bachelder
What Belongs to You by Garth Greenwell
Imagine Me Gone by Adam Haslett
News of the World by Paulette Jiles
The Association of Small Bombs by Karan Mahajan
The Portable Veblen by Elizabeth McKenzie
Sweet Lamb of Heaven by Lydia Millet
Miss Jane by Brad Watson
The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
Another Brooklyn by Jacqueline Woodson

The National Book Awards are a set of annual U.S. literary awards presented to American authors for books published in the United States during the award year.  National Book Awards are currently given to one book (author) annually in each of four categories:  fiction, nonfiction, poetry, and young people's literature.  For a complete list of all longlists, see

A finalist list of 5 titles will be released on October 13; the winner, who will receive $10,000 and a bronze sculpture, will be announced on November 16.