Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Sunday, June 12, 2016

Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour Winner

Last night, it was announced that Susan Juby is the winner of the 2016 Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour for her book Republic of Dirt: A Return to Woefield Farm.

Prudence Burns is an overly idealistic Brooklyn girl who has inherited a derelict plot of land named Woefield Farm. Her motley crew of farm hands consists of Earl, an elderly, reclusive bluegrass legend; Seth, an agoraphobic heavy-metal blogger in early recovery from alcoholism; and Sara, an 11-year-old girl with a flock of elite show poultry.  When Prudence is felled by a thyroid condition, things on the farm begin to fall apart, resulting in valiant and sometimes ill-advised attempts to restore domestic bliss. Efforts are complicated by a renegade mule, attempts to turn a hideously ugly child’s playhouse into a high-yield roadside farm stand, and an electrical station’s worth of crossed wires. Will Prudence get well? Will Seth finally get rid of his pesky virginity? Will Earl rescue Sara? And will anyone, ever, admit they might be wrong? (

This annual literary award, one of the oldest literary prizes in Canada, is presented for the best book of humour written in English by a Canadian writer. The medal is a tribute to well-known Canadian humourist Stephen Leacock (1869–1944) and is accompanied by a cash prize of $15,000(CAD).