Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Wednesday, June 15, 2016

Lambda Literary Awards Winners

Image result for lambda literary awards
Lambda Literary Awards (also known as the "Lammys") are awarded yearly by the US-based Lambda Literary Foundation to published works which celebrate or explore LGBT themes.  To qualify, a book must have been published in the United States in the year current to the award.

“The Lambda Literary Awards were founded in 1989 to elevate the profile of LGBT literature,” said Lambda Literary Board President, KG MacGregor. “In so doing, we also elevate the lives of those who find themselves authentically portrayed in our stories.”

Canadian author Hasan Namir’s novel God in Pink took the prize in the Gay Fiction category.  This novel  tells the story of Ramy, a closeted university student in war-torn Iraq in 2003, who struggles to balance his sexuality, religion and culture as a queer Muslim against a violent backdrop (