Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Kobo Emerging Writer Prize Shortlist

Kobo awards an annual prize to emerging writers in the categories of literary fiction, non-fiction, and genre fiction (with a different genre recognized each year).  In 2016 romance is the chosen genre.

The prize is open to both traditionally published and self-published authors from Canada who released their debut title the year prior. The title must be available on

Prize winners will each receive $10,000 cash and promotional, marketing, and communications support, as well as access to Kobo experts for publishing advice.

Established Canadian authors select the winners from a shortlist culled by Kobo booksellers based on “a combination of literary merit and reader engagement,” which takes into account Kobo completion rates, reviews, and ratings of each title.   This year’s winners will be chosen by Camilla Gibb (for Non-Fiction), Gail Anderson-Dargatz (for Literary Fiction), and Lynsay Sands (for Romance).

Winners will be announced on June 21.