Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Monday, May 9, 2016

Shirley Jackson Awards

I love Shirley Jackson’s story “The Lottery,” a story virtually everyone reads in high school.  Back in July of 2015, I wrote about new book featuring 22 unpublished Jackson stories:

Image result for shirley jackson awards
In recognition of the legacy of Shirley Jackson’s writing, The Shirley Jackson Awards are given for outstanding achievement in the literature of psychological suspense, horror, and the dark fantastic.
The awards are voted upon by a jury of professional writers, editors, critics, and academics.  The awards are given for the best work published in the preceding calendar year in the following categories:  Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

For a complete list of nominees, see

The 2015 Shirley Jackson Awards will be presented on Sunday, July 10, 2016.