Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Wednesday, May 11, 2016

2016 RBC Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers

Bronwen Wallace was a Canadian poet and short story writer.  In her honour, a group of friends and colleagues established the Bronwen Wallace Award for Emerging Writers.  Wallace felt that writers should have more opportunities for recognition early in their careers, so this annual award is given to a writer below the age of 35 who has published in literary magazines, journals, or anthologies, but has not yet been published in book form.  Past winners include Michael Crummey and Alissa York, two of my favourite Canadian authors. 

Alternating each year between poetry and short fiction, this year’s award is given to the author of an exceptional short story.  The three finalists are
Brendan Bowles for “Wyatt Thurst”
Allegra McKenzie for “This Monstrous Heart”
Hannah Rahimi for “With My Scarf Tied Just So”

Each of the finalists' stories can be downloaded for free on iBooks at

The winner of the $5,000 prize will be announced on June 8.