Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Saturday, May 28, 2016

2016 Ellis Awards Winners

The winners of the 2016 Ellis Awards have been announced. The Arthur Ellis Awards are a group of Canadian literary awards, presented annually by the Crime Writers of Canada, for the best Canadian crime and mystery writing published in the previous year.  The awards are named for Arthur Ellis, the pseudonym of Canada's official hangman. The award statue itself is a wooden model of a hanging man.

The winner of the Best Novel is Open Season by Peter Kirby.
This is the third book in the Luc Vanier crime series set in Montreal.  “A Guatemalan journalist is kidnapped, and the only message from her kidnappers is the murder of her lawyer. In a race against time, Luc Vanier sets about reconstructing her life, through the sordid world of human trafficking, the secretive underbelly of a multinational mining corporation, and the hiding places of desperate refugees. When Vanier is brutally warned off the investigation, he throws away the rule book and goes after the villains with a vengeance” (

The Best First Novel award went to Ausma Zehanat Khan for The Unquiet Dead, the first in a series featuring a Muslim investigator.  See my review:

For more information about other Ellis Awards winners, go to