Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Wednesday, April 27, 2016

Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour Nominees

A couple of days ago, the longlist for the Stephen Leacock Medal for Humour was released. This is an annual literary award presented for the best book of humour written in English by a Canadian writer. The medal is a tribute to well-known Canadian humourist Stephen Leacock (1869–1944) and is accompanied by a cash prize of $15,000(CAD).  It is presented each year in Leacock’s hometown of Orillia, Ontario.  The medal is one of the oldest literary prizes in Canada; it has been awarded since 1947. 
There are ten books on the 2016 list:
Our Life off the Grid by David J. Cox
The Horrors: An A-Z of Funny Thoughts on Awful Things by Charles Demers
Under Majordomo Minor by Patrick DeWitt
Do You Think This is Strange? by Aaron Cully Drake
Poles Apart by Terry Fallis
The Republic of Dirt by Susan Juby
The Secret Life of Doctors by Stephen Kaladeen
Vinyl Café Turns the Page by Stuart McLean
When the Saints by Sarah Mian
The Book of Faith by Elaine Kalman Naves

Two of the nominees are previous winners.  DeWitt's first novel The Sisters Brothers won the prize in 2012.  Terry Fallis is a two-time Leacock Medal winner, taking the prize in 2008 for The Best Laid Plans and again in 2015 for No Relation.

The shortlist will be announced on May 6 and the winner on June 11.