Twitter Account

Follow me on Twitter (@DCYakabuski) and Instagram (@doreenyakabuski).

Wednesday, March 9, 2016

Longlist for 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction

The longlist for the 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction was released yesterday:  The prize was established to recognize the literary achievement of female writers.  One of the United Kingdom's most prestigious literary prizes, it is awarded annually to a female author of any nationality for the best original full-length novel written in English and published in the United Kingdom in the preceding year.

Here are the 20 novels on that list:
Kate Atkinson:  A God in Ruins    (United Kingdom) – See my review posted on January 16, 2016
Shirley Barrett:  Rush Oh!    (Australia)
Cynthia Bond:  Ruby     (U.S.)
Geraldine Brooks:  The Secret Chord    (Australia)
Becky Chambers:  The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet    (U.S.)
Jackie Copleton:  A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding    (United Kingdom)
Rachel Elliott:  Whispers Through a Megaphone     (United Kingdom)
Anne Enright:  The Green Road     (Ireland)
Petina Gappah:  The Book of Memory     (Zimbabwae)
Vesna Goldsworthy:  Gorsky     (Serbia)
Clio Gray:  The Anatomist’s Dream     (United Kingdom)
Melissa Harrison:  At Hawthorn Time     (United Kingdom)
Attica Locke:  Pleasantville     (U.S.)
Lisa McInerney:  The Glorious Heresies     (Ireland)
Elizabeth McKenzie:  The Portable Veblen     (U.S.)
Sara Nović:  Girl at War     (U.S.)
Julia Rochester:  The House at the Edge of the World     (United Kingdom)
Hannah Rothschild:  The Improbability of Love     (United Kingdom)
Elizabeth Strout:  My Name is Lucy Barton     (U.S.) – See my review posted on January 12, 2016
Hanya Yanagihara:  A Little Life     (U.S.) – See my review posted on August 10, 2015

The shortlist of six titles will be revealed on April 11 and the winner, who will receive £30,000, will be announced on June 8.